Sit, Scrap, and Relax!

A peek into my scrappy life.

Anatomy of an art journal page.

2 Comments

I posted an art journal tutorial for beginners over at SkrapnChat during the weekend crop and thought I’d share it here as well.

I just started art journaling a few months ago and have to say I absolutely love it! It’s like discovering a whole new layer of my artistic side (that I didn’t know I had) and I love how I can use the techniques to bring my scrapbook pages to a whole new level! Yay!

I am still learning as I go. Most of what I have learned so far is from Christy Tomlinson (www.christytomlinson.typepad.com). I am taking her She Art online class and loving it!

Today I am sharing a couple simple techniques for a background: using scraps of paper and paint, and using found items to create texture. Here’s my example page I did last night:

IMGP8700 (755x800)

I didn’t have a specific plan on how it was going to look by the end. I just started by grabbing a few scraps of pattern paper that were already on my table from a layout I just finished (My Minds Eye). I pasted them on the page with Mod Podge.

IMGP8685 (800x531)IMGP8686 (800x531)

While I waited for that to dry I gathered up my paint, and stuff to create texture such as stamps, bubble wrap, paper towels and an old credit card.

Once the page was dry I started smearing on paint randomly. I used the credit card but sometime I use a paint brush or my fingers! (Love it). Be careful not to use too much paint or you will completely cover those pretty patterns on the paper.

IMGP8687 (800x531)IMGP8688 (800x531)

Once that was dry I started adding texture using a contrasting colour of paint.

IMGP8689 (800x531)IMGP8690 (800x531)IMGP8691 (800x531)IMGP8692 (800x531)IMGP8693 (800x531)IMGP8694 (800x531)

Next I fussy cut a butterfly from a pattern paper (BoBunny) and pasted it on the page, then added a few more stamps for more texture- and done!!!

And one of my favourite parts of art journaling- look at what my fingers looked like when I was done! Love it!

IMGP8697 (800x531)

Author: sitscrapandrelax

Optometrist by day, scrapbooker by night!

2 thoughts on “Anatomy of an art journal page.

  1. Love it Karen – it a gorgeous page!

  2. Awesome job!

Leave a Reply

