Sit, Scrap, and Relax!

A peek into my scrappy life.

Skrap n’ Chat Blog Hop!

29 Comments

 

sncbloghop_zps5fdc7dac

 

Today I am excited to be participating in the first ever SkrapnChat blog hop!  Woohoo! A bunch of us members decided to challenge ourselves to do projects with a common theme (as we often do) and all blog about it on the same day.

 

Today we are sharing projects that use stencils or masks. Fun right?!  Stencils and masks are BIG right now, and I LOVE it! I have a ton of them and use them often on my scrapbook and art journal pages. Here are a couple of layouts I did recently just for this blog hop.

 

I love how this first one turned out. I misted over my Studio Calico chevron mask with Mister Huey’s Color Mist- Boss Lady, and added flicks of Warm Calico and Custard to create the background. Then I simply layered different strips of pattern paper and finished with some paint circles and stamping along with a few other embellishments. I think it’s a fun layout!

balletsolo4 (797x800)

 

For this next one I wanted to use a stencil in a different way so I swiped some modeling paste over the Crafters Workshop Mini Spilled Hearts. The modeling paste is nice because it gives texture that you don’t get with mist.

 

happyeaster (800x797)

 

And just for fun, here is an art journaling page I did a couple of weeks ago by simply layering a bunch of masks using paint- a relaxing way to spend a half hour before bed!

 

awesome (585x800)

 

Well thanks for stopping by my blog today! The the good news is that there are a ton more great projects ahead! I can’t wait to go have a look myself! The next stop is Dana’s blog.

 

Oh, and more good news- If you do visit all the blogs below and leave a comment on each one, you will be entered into a prize draw donated by myself! So get to it! Enjoy!

 

Karen https://sitscrapandrelax.wordpress.com {You are HERE}
Dana http://scrappingtherapy.blogspot.ca/
Emily http://scrappingsomememories.blogspot.ca/
Stacy http://creatingbeautyfromashes.blogspot.ca/
Kelsey http://scrappinkels.blogspot.ca/
Anita http://neetaschaos.blogspot.ca/
Lori http://itsabouttimeblogspot.wordpress.com/
Jenn http://jennzthoughtfulspot.blogspot.ca/
April http://livewelllaughoftenscrapmuch.blogspot.com/

Author: sitscrapandrelax

Optometrist by day, scrapbooker by night!

29 thoughts on “Skrap n’ Chat Blog Hop!

  1. Beautiful layout! So girly!

  2. Love all your projects. That heart mask is great!!

  3. love! love! Love

  4. Love your examples and your art journal is awesome!!!!

  5. Love, Love, Love the Ballet LO. Beautiful work Karen!!

  6. Love your LOs Karen and your art journal page is awesome!
    Thank you so much for all the great work you have put in to organizing this great blog hop! 🙂

  7. Love them all,beautiful!!!

  8. Beautiful job Karen!! Loved your use of modeling paste:)

  9. Thanks for the great ideas, I also have lots of stencils and I’m looking for new ways to use them 🙂

  10. Wow!! a wonderful job! Love the Chevron mask, will be on the lookout for that one! 🙂

  11. Great use of the stencils!! Especialloy love your first layout! ~Bev/Skeeter~

  12. Love how you done these. Awesome use of the modeling paste.

  13. Awesome job with the layouts and art journaling page! Love the masking and misting!

  14. love them – love the texture of the modeling paste and that layout is just precious 🙂

  15. 1st stop on the blog hop… nice to catch up on what has been going on in your days

  16. That is an adorable dance page!

  17. Love your layouts Karen! Fantastic job. Definitely some techniques I would love to try sometime.

  18. I love the grey easter layout!! so cute!!

  19. Awesome job on the misting etc Karen, you really know how to pull a layout together, love them!

  20. Each one of your projects is fantastic. I like the way you make use of stencils in quick and easy ways. Thanks for the tips.

  21. Beautiful, beautiful LO’s. I especially like the chevrons on the ballet LO 🙂

  22. Fantastic LOs, Karen! I love the Gesso idea……….I have some but have not used it. Thank you for the push!

  23. Fantastic job!!! Love those projects. What fun!

  24. Great job with the stencils! Those chevrons are awesome! And your idea with the Gesso for the hearts – so neat!

  25. I always love your work, you have a really great eye for colour and space. keep up te great work!

  26. Beautiful pages, very inspiring! Thanks for the tips!

Leave a Reply

