Sit, Scrap, and Relax!

A peek into my scrappy life.

Skrap n’ Chat Spring Blog Hop

17 Comments

spring_blog_hop_signWelcome to the Skrap n’ Chat Spring Blog Hop!! So glad you could join us!

Skrap n’ Chat is an online forum for scrapbookers. We chat about anything and everything, especially scrapbooking. We host monthly challenges and share our work with each other in our gallery. We always welcome new members so feel free to visit us, sign up and join in!

Today a few of us from SNC wanted to spread some cheer with some ‘springy’ projects. It is nothing like Spring here in Newfoundland. In fact, our weather is more like Winter, and we are calling it ‘Sprinter’. So let me tell you, I really need some ‘Spring’ cheer!

I can’t wait to see some Spring flowers, so I am sharing a couple flower canvases I did this past week.

 

Donna Downey recently released a free video tutorial of a beautiful canvas. So I followed along with the video and made this!

20140402_160238

I started out by creating a bunch of messy layers using acrylic paint, some stencils and finally gelatos. This is what it looked like. Isn’t it yummy! I almost didn’t want to cover it up, but onward I went! 20140329_212120

Next I cut a bunch of circles out of cardstock and scattered them over the canvas. (Sorry, I forgot to take a picture of this step). Then I sprayed the canvas with black Mister Huey’s and removed the circles. Next it was time for the flower. Donna Downey used a flower stencil, but I don’t have one, so I drew a picture of one and cut it out. Then I traced over it with a white Uniball pen. 20140401_113308

I took off the paper and painted it in with gesso.

20140401_114209

Once that was dry, I went over it with white modelling paste, and then painted the stem.

20140402_160238

I like the way it turned out!

 

On Wednesday evening I attended a really fun class at The Paperie. The class was taught by a talented local artist, Jeannette French. You can check out her facebook page <here>.

And this is what we made! Fun right?!

IMGP9990

 

Want to see more Spring projects?! Well keep hopping along (and please leave comments along the way, because there may be a prize or two)! The next stop will be Emily’s blog.

 

Here is the complete blog list for today’s hop:

1. Karen  https://sitscrapandrelax.wordpress.com <you are here>
2. Emily   http://scrappingsomememories.blogspot.ca/
3. Dana   http://scrappingtherapy.blogspot.ca/
4. Heather   http://www.heatherscraftyheart.blogspot.com/
5. Stacy   http://creatingbeautyfromashes.blogspot.ca/
6. April   http://livewelllaughoftenscrapmuch.blogspot.com/
7. Robyn   http://cozienookhomestead.wordpress.com/

 

Thanks for stopping by! Happy Spring! (or ‘Sprinter’!)

Author: sitscrapandrelax

Optometrist by day, scrapbooker by night!

17 thoughts on “Skrap n’ Chat Spring Blog Hop

  1. Wow – your pre-Huey canvas was so festive and gorgeous but I love the end result too! (Gonna have to check out the tut!) And I love the second one as well – thanks for sharing!

  2. Love all the colors in your 1st project! Love how that red pops off the black on your 2nd project.

  3. Looks amazing Karen! I have moments of not wanting to cover backgrounds either when they’re that pretty!

  4. Gorgeous art Karen, you’re so talented!

  5. WOW Karen that is beautiful. I really need to get back into making things for myself…. and not everyone else.

  6. WOW Karen…both projects are awesome!! You are very talented!!!

  7. Karen – these are beautiful. Lots of happy spring colors in the first canvas – love the effect with the circles. We’re definitely still in the throes of winter here too.

  8. Gorgeous!! Love how they both turned out

  9. love your canvases!! great work

  10. Love your spring flowers Karen! Beautiful!

  11. Karen, I am not sure how I missed hopping here yesterday but I am so glad I came back for another peek. I LOVE your canvas!!! The bright colours under the back and the big white blossom on top is gorgeous! I love your art canvases and all the fun ideas you try. The red flowers on the black are awesome. Very elegant and artistic.
    I am so glad you take the time to share your tutorials and techniques with us on SNC. I learn so much from you and the other DT members! 🙂

  12. Oh my! I’m in love with both of those. I’m not sure which is my favorite. Great job!

  13. love love love! the background ono the first one is amazing! I’m not sure I could cover it! lol love the tone on tone in the second one – all that texture is yummy!

  14. OMG, they are totally fabulous!!! I really love the simplicity of the first one!!! Beautiful!

  15. Love love love your canvases Karen!!!!!! Fantastic job, as always… are you sure you donèt want to be a painter…hmmmm

  16. Beautiful! I love what you did with both of them. Your first canvas with all those layers is so pretty! And they’re definitely spring-y!

Leave a Reply

